The Rose d'Or completes our success.Charlotte Geurink, NPO Radio 2
The true mark of a great Entertainment show is a Rose d’Or award.Graham Stuart, The Graham Norton Show
It's a huge honour!Barney Reisz, Zeppotron

Dame Angela Lansbury to receive Rose d’Or Lifetime Achievement Award

Dame Angela Lansbury will be honoured with the Rose d’Or Award for Lifetime Achievement at the 56th Rose d’Or Award Ceremony to be held in Berlin on 19 September.

The award recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to entertainment throughout their careers. The Rose d’Or Awards are organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and were first presented in 1961. They are given to the best television and online entertainment programmes from the previous year.

In a career spanning 7 decades Dame Angela has demonstrated her versatility as an actress and singer in theatre, film and on television and is excited to be nominated:

“I’m honoured to be coming to Berlin in September, for the first time in my life, to receive this most coveted award, the Rose d’Or,” she said. “I cannot thank you enough and I’m so looking forward to being there.”

Dame Angela Lansbury was nominated for an Academy Award after appearing in her first movie, 'Gaslight' (1944) and then on two further occasions for 'The Picture of Dorian Gray' (1946) and 'The Manchurian Candidate' (1962). Her other notable film work includes classics such as Disney’s 'Bedknobs and Broomsticks' (1971) and 'Death on the Nile' (1978). Lansbury has also won 5 Tony Awards for her work in shows like 'Mame', 'Gypsy' and famously as the first actress to play Mrs Lovett in Stephen Sondheim’s 'Sweeney Todd'.