News about the Rose d'Or Awards

Nominations announced for 2017 Rose d’Or Awards

August 21, 2017

Programmes from 13 different countries have been nominated to win a coveted Rose d’Or award at the 56th annual ceremony in Berlin on 19 September, organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

The list of 40 nominees in 10 categories from Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Norway, the Netherlands, Sweden and the United Kingdom represents the best in international television and online entertainment.

Over 430 programmes from more than 160 broadcasters and production companies were submitted for this year’s Rose d’Or Awards.

Programme makers are competing to take home a coveted Rose d’Or Award in the following categories - Reality & Factual Entertainment, Arts, Game Show, Entertainment, Comedy, Drama Series, Sitcom, and, new for 2017, TV Movie, Children & Youth and Virtual Reality.  

Those nominated in each category are invited to attend an afternoon of workshops, talks and screenings; giving them a chance to network with programme makers from around the world.

“We’re thrilled that the Rose d’Or has once again attracted a huge amount of interest from the global entertainment community,” said EBU Head of Television and Rose d’Or organiser Jeroen Depraetere. 

“The fantastic creativity on show this year has meant our juries have had a tough job selecting the 40 nominees competing to win a Rose d’Or trophy in Berlin. As well as shows from all over Europe we’re excited to see the first show from Latin America nominated as well as the best in entertainment from Canada and Australia. The EBU is proud that once again the Rose d’Or Awards can provide a place where the global entertainment gold standard can shine brightly.”

Following in the footsteps of Stephen Fry and John Cleese, Dame Angela Lansbury will receive a Lifetime Achievement award to celebrate her immense contribution to the world of entertainment.

A brand new award will also be handed to the Entertainer of The Year to recognise their global impact in the past 12 months. 

Journalists, photographers and those who wish to attend the Rose d’Or can register online here. 


  • Greetings From 19xx – Belgium, Lecter Media
  • Muslims Like Us – United Kingdom, Love Productions / BBC Two
  • This Time Next Year – United Kingdom, Twofour / ITV
  • You Can’t Ask That – Australia, ABC TV


  • Dante & the Invention of Hell – Italy, Sky Italia SRL
  • Midsummer Night’s Dream – Sweden, SVT
  • The Secret of a Master Painter – The Netherlands, NPO 2
  • Young Men – United Kingdom, BalletBoyz Ltd. / BBC Two


  • Babushka – United Kingdom, STV Productions / ITV
  • Bigheads – United Kingdom, Primal Media / Sony Pictures Television
  • Só Pra Parodiar – Brazil, Multishow / Winnin
  • The Wall (Face au Mur) – France, Endemol Shine France / TF1


  • Britain’s Got Talent – United Kingdom, ITV
  • Kitchen Impossible –Germany, Endemol Shine Germany GmbH
  • Mindf*ck – The Netherlands, OVP / NPO1
  • Stasera CasaMika (Tonight at Mika’s Home) – Italy, RAI 2


  • Anti Bully Club - The Netherlands, Evangelische Omroep / Skyhigh TV
  • Club der roten Bänder (Red Bracelets) – Germany, Bantry Bay / VOX
  • Hashtag – Sweden, Zentropa Sweden / SVT
  • Inside My Head: A Newsround Special – United Kingdom, CBBC


  • Brexaggedon?! – United Kingdom, Hat Trick Productions Ltd. / BBC 2 
  • Fleabag – United Kingdom, Two Brothers Pictures / BBC 3
  • Here Come the Habibs – Australia, Jungle / Channel Nine Australia
  • Kroymann – Germany, BTF GmbH / Das Erste


  • Henry IX – United Kingdom, Retort / Serious Comedy / Gold
  • People Just Do Nothing – United Kingdom, Roughcut TV / BBC3
  • Wingman – Finland, YLE
  • Witless – United Kingdom, Objective Fiction / BBC One / BBC3


  • The Crown – United Kingdom, Left Bank Pictures / Netflix
  • The Night Manager – United Kingdom, The Ink Factory / Demarest / Character Seven / BBC One
  • Nobel – Peace at Any Cost – Norway, Monster Scripted / NRK / DRG
  • The Young Pope – United Kingdom, SKY / HBO / Canal+


  • Camp Holland – The Netherlands, KeyFilm / Evangelische Omroep
  • King Charles III – United Kingdom, Drama Republic / BBC Two
  • Reg – United Kingdom, LA Productions / BBC One
  • The Verdict – Germany, Beta Film GmbH / ARD


  • At Anton’s Home – Denmark, DR
  • The Enemy – France, Camera Lucida Productions / France Télévisions Nouvelles Ecritures / Office national du Film du Canada (ONF), Emissive, et Dpt.
  • Halcyon – Canada, Secret Location
  • Lost in time – United Kingdom / Norway, FremantleMedia Norway / The Future Group / TV Norge